Governance Board

Governance Board

The overall responsibility for the Data Lab resides with the Governance Board made up of representatives of each of the stakeholder groups, and chaired by an independent industry leader.

The Board approves all significant funding applications, monitors progress, terminates projects where necessary and decides upon future strategic areas for investment. It is strongly weighted towards industrial representation.

The Data Lab Governing Boards TOR

Governance Board Members

Les Bayne, Chairperson

Les Bayne - Chair of The Data Lab Governance Board

Former Accenture Scotland MD and founder of business growth platform Alba Arete

Previously managing director of Accenture’s Scottish operations, Bayne recently founded Alba Arete, an organisation focused on helping Scottish businesses grow, and Scotland reach its full potential.

Industry and Public Sector Members:

Shona Cowan

Service Manager for Workforce and Digital Services, NHS NSS

Ed Broussard, Private sector

Head of Accenture FS Applied Intelligence and CEO of Mudano (part of Accenture)

Dave Shaw, Private sector

Tesco Bank

Albert King, Public sector

Scottish Government

Grant Smith, Private sector


Dr Helen Brown, Private sector

Non-Exec Director

Dr Zoe Webster, Public sector

Innovate UK

Academic Representatives:

Jane Hilston

Head of School Informatics

Professor Stuart Anderson

Director, SICSA

Scottish Enterprise, Highland and Islands Enterprise and Scottish Funding Council (observers):

Robin Lee, SFC

Senior Policy/Analysis Officer, Scottish Funding Council

David Oxley, HIE

Interim Director of Sectors & Businesses, Highlands and Islands Enterprise (HIE)

Ian Blewett, SE

Head of Digital Economy at Scottish Enterprise