Governance Board

The overall responsibility for the Data Lab resides with the Governance Board made up of representatives of each of the stakeholder groups, and chaired by an independent industry leader.

The Board approves all significant funding applications, monitors progress, terminates projects where necessary and decides upon future strategic areas for investment. It is strongly weighted towards industrial representation.

Governance Board Terms of Reference

Governance Board Members:

Neil Logan, Chairperson

Chief Executive Officer, Incremental Group

Jim McCumesty,

Head of Core Technologies, SAS

John McCall,

Director, Smart Data Technologies Centre, Robert Gordon University

Sophie Lowry,

Senior Policy Officer, Scottish Funding Council

Ian Blewett,

Head of Technology, Scottish Enterprise

Kevin Hammond,

Director, SICSA

Alan Johnstone,

Scottish Government

Frances Sneddon,


Iadh Ounis,

University of Glasgow / Deputy Director / Director of Knowledge Exchange SICSA (Scottish Informatics & Computer Science Alliance)

David Oxley,

Interim Director of Sectors & Businesses, Highlands and Islands Enterprise (HIE)

Mark Hunter,

CDO, Sainsbury's Bank

Mailing List

To recieve updates from The Data Lab please enter your details below.